Beautiful blooms of winter?

IMG_2671Not that I’m complaining or anything but I was a little taken aback to find these snowdrops already blooming in our backyard.  Last year they seemed early when they bloomed in February; I had expected them in early March.  But mid-January?  I guess they really are drops of snow, now that the real snow seems to last but a short while.

Also, I can see why the blue birds are sticking around this year–there still seem to be plenty of bugs around for them to eat.  This big and ugly house-fly landed on our front door and seemed plenty active in the sunny mid-winter day.  Yuck!  (I guess if I was a bird I might say Yum!)

IMG_2672

3 thoughts on “Beautiful blooms of winter?

  1. I can remember the ornamental cabbage was looking faded and raggedy by this time of year. Ours are bright magenta and seem happy to continue through the winter, Birds are all over the garden eating (I hope) the tons of weed seeds left because of my casual method of gardening. Date: Mon, 21 Jan 2013 00:42:55 +0000 To: elaineandal@msn.com

  2. Who can doubt the reality of global warming.  AIs spring really almost here?  Seems soJan 20, 2013 06:42:57 PM, comment+ewm8yrlqxakwrk-ycnakzj@comment.wordpress.com wrote:

    micmilgarden posted: “Not that I’m complaining or anything but I was a little taken aback to find these snowdrops already blooming in our backyard.  Last year they seemed early when they bloomed in February; I had expected them in early March.  But mid-January?  I guess they r”

  3. Bet the poor things are sorry they put their little noses above ground with the current cold. Folly to jump into things without chicking the weather report.

Leave a Reply

